Sunday, February 23, 2014

Ice Cream and Heart Box Recalls in February 2014

Yeah, you read the title of today's post correctly, Sisters and Brothers.  We have recalls for you and one involves ice cream even though for many states in the USA it is cold.  Here's a secret: people eat ice cream year round regardless of the weather though not so much in my house.  Not too surprising but sad is that there is one recall related to Valentine's Day if any of you still have your candy left over.

Ice Cream Specialties Issues Allergy Alert On Undeclared Peanut Allergen In Dairy Rich Chocolate Ice Cream

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - February 14, 2014 - Ice Cream Specialties of Merrillville, Indiana is recalling Dairy Rich Chocolate Ice Cream because it may contain peanut butter, which contains a peanut allergen. People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to peanuts run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume these products. There have been no illnesses reported to date in connection with this product.

Dairy Rich Chocolate Ice Cream was distributed in Northwest Indiana, Northeast Illinois and Deer Park, New York and it reached consumers through grocery stores and other retail food outlets.

The affected product is packaged in 56-ounce paper cartons with the Dairy Rich graphic logo and a picture of a chocolate ice cream scoop on the front and back panels. This voluntary recall is limited only to packages of Dairy Rich Chocolate Ice Cream bearing the following UPC and Best Used by Date. The Best Used by Date can be located on the left-hand end panel (the side panel) of the carton. No other Dairy Rich Ice Cream products are affected.

UPC: 0-71580-08103-1
Best used by: June 14, 2015

The recall was initiated after it was discovered that some Dairy Rich Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream was mistakenly packaged in Dairy Rich Chocolate Ice Cream cartons.

Consumers who have purchased Dairy Rich Chocolate Ice Cream are urged to return it to the place of purchase for a full refund. Consumers with questions may contact the company at (219) 980-0800, Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. CST.

-------
Fannie May Issues A Voluntary Recall Of Its 4.0 Oz. Heart-shaped Box Of Assorted Chocolates Due To Undeclared Peanuts

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – February 20, 2014 – Fannie May Confections Brands, Inc. (“Fannie May”) is issuing the following update regarding its previously announced voluntary recall of red heart shaped boxes of assorted chocolates.

The company initiated the voluntary recall on February 19, 2014.  Fannie May Confections Brands, Inc. (“Fannie May”) is recalling 12,000 units of its 4.0 oz., red heart-shaped gift box of assorted chocolates because the box includes one piece of candy that contains peanuts, a known allergen, and the food ingredient label on the box did not state that the product contained peanuts. Fannie May decided to recall the products after a customer contacted one of our telephone customer service representatives to report that the ingredient label on the box of chocolates did not state it contained peanuts.

Individuals who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to peanuts run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they come in contact with or consume this product.

The product being recalled is a 4.0 oz., red heart-shaped gift box measuring 5 1/4” by 5 ½” in size that contains 8 pieces of assorted chocolates including one caramel/peanut candy.  The red heart-shaped box has a rose motif foil paper with the name “Fannie May” in silver lettering along the right side of the box and a label in the upper left stating “Fannie May Assorted Chocolates NET WT.  4 oz. 113g.”  The back of the box has a full nutritional label which also states: “This product has been produced on equipment shared with peanuts, treenuts, soybean, milk, eggs and wheat”.

The item is identified as SKU #77202 with the UPC number on the label of 0 52745 96000 2.  Lot information on this product is 13344, 13345, 13361, 14010, and 14014.  LOOK at the SKU numbers, do not simply go by photos.

Fannie May Confections Brands, Inc. determined that the 12,000 boxes of chocolates were available for sale beginning January 10, 2014 in up to 450 drug stores, grocery stores and gift shops in seven (7) states: Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Arizona and Florida.  Retailers that sold the product include, but are not limited to, Walgreens, Hallmark Gift Shops, Jewel Grocers and other independent retailers.  This particular gift box of assorted chocolates was not available nor offered for sale in any of the 100+ Fannie May retail stores, or through the Fannie May website located at: wwwfanniemay.com.

To date there has been one reported incident of an individual who had an allergic reaction who was treated and released from further medical care.  Fannie May is not aware of any other incidences, nor have there been any other reported illnesses.

This voluntary recall does not affect any other products from Fannie May Chocolates.

Consumers that have purchased the Fannie May 4.0 oz. red heart-shaped box of assorted chocolates are urged to dispose of the product.

Fannie May is working in cooperation with the FDA. Information on the product recall can be found on the homepage of the Company’s website located at: www.fanniemay.com.  Consumers with questions may contact a dedicated customer service representative at the Company by calling 330-494-0833 Extension 193, Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5:30 p.m. EST or email customerservice@fanniemay.com.

No comments:

Matched Content Ads